by Shannon Foreman | Jul 6, 2018
Tokelahoma, where the weed comes sweeping down the plain!
If you haven’t heard about SQ 788 here is a rundown. It’s a medical marijuana bill for Oklahoma (simply put.) It’s a bit different from what we are used to here in Colorado (so far, SQ 788 passed but we still have till the end of this month for final words from legislation.) This means Oklahoma will be the 30th state to legalize medical marijuana! Per the bill a person can legally possess 3 ounces of flower on their person, have 6 mature marijuana plants, have 6 seedling plants, have 1 ounce of concentrate, have 72 ounces of edibles, and possess up to 8 ounces of cannabis in their residence. (section 1 subsection A) Sounds reasonable right? Well here is a kicker for you. If you are caught without having gone through the medical license process, but can state a medical condition, it’s a misdemeanor offense with a fine not to exceed 400$. (Section 1 Subsection B)
Now, according to section 1 subsection D of SQ 788 it states that the medical marijuana license will be valid for two years, and the fee will be 100$. If you are on Medicaid, Medicare, or SoonerCare (Oklahoma based state insurance) the application fee will be 20$. It also states that the Oklahoma State Department of Health shall publish an application that is on their website, in an easy to find location. No seriously, that’s almost verbatim what it says. Now according to section 1 subsection E, it recognizes other sates medical marijuana licenses. So, if you are a med patient here in Colorado, you can take a trip to the good ol’ south and still get your medication. Only negative part is: it’s a 100$ for the temp license, but it lasts 30 days.
Something that really caught my eyes is in Section 1 subsection K. A caregiver license would be made available for qualified caregivers of a MMJ patient, this would give the caregiver the same rights as the MMJ license holder. The criteria don’t seem to crazy; proof of the MMJ license status and homebound status. That they are the designated caregiver of the MMJ patient. And of course, they must be 18.
Let’s skip to Oklahoma patients a little more. All applicants must be 18 or older. It also states that there are exceptions, if two physicians both agree and sign that the patient would be positively affected by medical marijuana, and the applicants parent or legal guardian signs off, a minor can get his/her MML license. (section 1 subsection L)
Now if you are over 18, you just need one signature by an Oklahoma Board Certified Physician. There are NO underlying conditions states. In the subsection, it states “A medical marijuana license must be recommended according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow when recommending or approving any medication. (Section 1 subsection M)” Which leaves the decision mainly up to the Doctor. After you have all of that done you send in your paperwork to the Oklahoma Health Department, and they mail an approval or rejection letter (which also states why you were rejected) within 14 days of receiving the application. If you are approved, you will receive the license in the mail. (Section 1 subsection I)
I think this bill is lax, but effective. I’m excited for the patients that can get the medicine they need legally. And I’m excited for the economic and employment benefits. The current unemployment rate in Oklahoma is 4%, as of march of 2018. Let’s hope this opens up job opportunities!
Now this is an amazing step in the right direction. In total for SQ 788 there are 9 different sections. Growing, owning a business in the cannabis industry, manufacturing, transportation, protection and discrimination, taxations and more.Tokin